Item 6. SELECTED FINANCIAL DATA
8K characters. Original on sec.gov ·
Item 6. SELECTED FINANCIAL DATA
Financial Information
| Alliant Energy | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 (a) | 2011 | 2010 | ||||||||||||||
| (dollars in millions, except per share data) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income Statement Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $3,350.3 | $3,276.8 | $3,094.5 | $3,221.4 | $3,262.1 | ||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | 395.7 | 382.1 | 340.8 | 341.4 | 310.2 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | (2.4 | ) | (5.9 | ) | (5.1 | ) | (19.5 | ) | (3.9 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | 393.3 | 376.2 | 335.7 | 321.9 | 306.3 | ||||||||||||||
| Amounts attributable to Alliant Energy common shareowners: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | 385.5 | 364.2 | 324.9 | 323.1 | 291.5 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | (2.4 | ) | (5.9 | ) | (5.1 | ) | (19.5 | ) | (3.9 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | 383.1 | 358.3 | 319.8 | 303.6 | 287.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Common Stock Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Earnings per weighted average common share attributable to Alliant Energy common shareowners (basic and diluted): | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | $3.48 | $3.29 | $2.93 | $2.92 | $2.64 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | ($0.02 | ) | ($0.06 | ) | ($0.04 | ) | ($0.18 | ) | ($0.04 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | $3.46 | $3.23 | $2.89 | $2.74 | $2.60 | ||||||||||||||
| Common shares outstanding at year-end (000s) | 110,936 | 110,944 | 110,987 | 111,019 | 110,894 | ||||||||||||||
| Dividends declared per common share | $2.04 | $1.88 | $1.80 | $1.70 | $1.58 | ||||||||||||||
| Market value per share at year-end | $66.42 | $51.60 | $43.91 | $44.11 | $36.77 | ||||||||||||||
| Book value per share at year-end | $31.00 | $29.58 | $28.25 | $27.14 | $26.09 | ||||||||||||||
| Market capitalization at year-end | $7,368.4 | $5,724.7 | $4,873.4 | $4,897.0 | $4,077.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Other Selected Financial Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | $891.6 | $731.0 | $841.1 | $702.7 | $984.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Construction and acquisition expenditures | $902.8 | $798.3 | $1,158.1 | $673.4 | $866.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets at year-end | $12,085.9 | $11,112.4 | $10,785.5 | $9,687.9 | $9,282.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net | $3,791.1 | $3,338.1 | $3,141.5 | $2,708.0 | $2,710.3 | ||||||||||||||
| Times interest earned before income taxes (b) | 3.44X | 3.52X | 3.75X | 3.59X | 3.81X | ||||||||||||||
| Capitalization ratios: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Common equity | 45 | % | 46 | % | 47 | % | 50 | % | 49 | % | |||||||||
| Preferred stock of subsidiaries | 3 | % | 3 | % | 3 | % | 3 | % | 4 | % | |||||||||
| Long- and short-term debt | 52 | % | 51 | % | 50 | % | 47 | % | 47 | % | |||||||||
| Total | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % |
| (a) | Refer to “Alliant Energy’s Results of Operations” in MDA for discussion of the 2014, 2013 and 2012 results of operations. |
| (b) | Represents the sum of income from continuing operations before income taxes plus interest expense, divided by interest expense. |
| IPL | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 (a) | 2011 | 2010 | ||||||||||||||
| (in millions) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $1,848.1 | $1,818.8 | $1,650.3 | $1,740.1 | $1,795.8 | ||||||||||||||
| Net income | 194.6 | 189.9 | 150.2 | 139.3 | 143.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Earnings available for common stock | 184.4 | 173.6 | 137.6 | 124.3 | 128.0 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash dividends declared on common stock | 140.0 | 128.1 | 122.9 | 73.4 | — | ||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | 406.1 | 232.6 | 291.0 | 366.9 | 549.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets | 6,461.8 | 5,806.0 | 5,457.0 | 5,093.5 | 4,937.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net | 1,769.3 | 1,559.2 | 1,361.7 | 1,311.0 | 1,310.6 |
| (a) | Refer to “IPL’s Results of Operations” in MDA for a discussion of the 2014, 2013 and 2012 results of operations. |
Alliant Energy is the sole common shareowner of all 13,370,788 shares of IPL’s common stock outstanding. As such, earnings per share data is not disclosed herein.
| WPL | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 (a) | 2011 | 2010 | ||||||||||||||
| (in millions) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $1,449.1 | $1,406.3 | $1,392.0 | $1,434.4 | $1,423.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Net income | 180.8 | 177.5 | 165.7 | 163.5 | 152.3 | ||||||||||||||
| Earnings available for common stock | 180.1 | 175.9 | 162.4 | 160.2 | 149.0 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash dividends declared on common stock | 118.7 | 116.3 | 112.0 | 112.1 | 109.5 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | 424.4 | 423.3 | 427.4 | 428.8 | 372.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets | 5,128.2 | 4,804.4 | 4,762.6 | 4,044.0 | 3,889.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net | 1,669.1 | 1,432.2 | 1,436.1 | 1,190.7 | 1,193.7 |
| (a) | Refer to “WPL’s Results of Operations” in MDA for a discussion of the 2014, 2013 and 2012 results of operations. |
Alliant Energy is the sole common shareowner of all 13,236,601 shares of WPL’s common stock outstanding. As such, earnings per share data is not disclosed herein.
Previous: Item 5. MARKET FOR REGISTRANTS’ COMMON EQUITY, RELATED STOCKHOLDER MATTERS AND ISSUER PURCHASES OF EQUITY SECURITIES · Next: Item 7. MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS
Sponsor Sponsor this sector. One slot per industry, shown on every filing in it. Details