Item 6. SELECTED FINANCIAL DATA
9K characters. Original on sec.gov · Markdown
Item 6. SELECTED FINANCIAL DATA
Financial Information
| Alliant Energy | 2015 (a) | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 | 2011 | ||||||||||||||
| (dollars in millions, except per share data) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income Statement Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $3,253.6 | $3,350.3 | $3,276.8 | $3,094.5 | $3,221.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | 390.9 | 395.7 | 382.1 | 340.8 | 341.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | (2.5 | ) | (2.4 | ) | (5.9 | ) | (5.1 | ) | (19.5 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | 388.4 | 393.3 | 376.2 | 335.7 | 321.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Amounts attributable to Alliant Energy common shareowners: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | 380.7 | 385.5 | 364.2 | 324.9 | 323.1 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | (2.5 | ) | (2.4 | ) | (5.9 | ) | (5.1 | ) | (19.5 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | 378.2 | 383.1 | 358.3 | 319.8 | 303.6 | ||||||||||||||
| Common Stock Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Earnings per weighted average common share attributable to Alliant Energy common shareowners (basic and diluted): | |||||||||||||||||||
| Income from continuing operations, net of tax | $3.38 | $3.48 | $3.29 | $2.93 | $2.92 | ||||||||||||||
| Loss from discontinued operations, net of tax | ($0.02 | ) | ($0.02 | ) | ($0.06 | ) | ($0.04 | ) | ($0.18 | ) | |||||||||
| Net income | $3.36 | $3.46 | $3.23 | $2.89 | $2.74 | ||||||||||||||
| Common shares outstanding at year-end (000s) | 113,459 | 110,936 | 110,944 | 110,987 | 111,019 | ||||||||||||||
| Dividends declared per common share | $2.20 | $2.04 | $1.88 | $1.80 | $1.70 | ||||||||||||||
| Market value per share at year-end | $62.45 | $66.42 | $51.60 | $43.91 | $44.11 | ||||||||||||||
| Book value per share at year-end | $32.82 | $31.00 | $29.58 | $28.25 | $27.14 | ||||||||||||||
| Market capitalization at year-end | $7,085.5 | $7,368.4 | $5,724.7 | $4,873.4 | $4,897.0 | ||||||||||||||
| Other Selected Financial Data: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | $871.2 | $891.6 | $731.0 | $841.1 | $702.7 | ||||||||||||||
| Construction and acquisition expenditures | $1,034.3 | $902.8 | $798.3 | $1,158.1 | $673.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets at year-end (b) | $12,495.2 | $12,063.5 | $11,092.5 | $10,766.0 | $9,668.8 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net (b) | $3,837.0 | $3,768.7 | $3,318.2 | $3,122.0 | $2,688.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Times interest earned before income taxes (c) | 3.47X | 3.44X | 3.52X | 3.75X | 3.59X | ||||||||||||||
| Capitalization ratios: | |||||||||||||||||||
| Common equity | 47 | % | 45 | % | 46 | % | 47 | % | 50 | % | |||||||||
| Preferred stock of subsidiaries | 3 | % | 3 | % | 3 | % | 3 | % | 3 | % | |||||||||
| Long- and short-term debt | 50 | % | 52 | % | 51 | % | 50 | % | 47 | % | |||||||||
| Total | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % | 100 | % |
| (a) | Refer to “Results of Operations” in MDA for discussion of the 2015, 2014 and 2013 results of operations. |
| (b) | In 2015, Alliant Energy adopted a new accounting standard related to the presentation of debt issuance costs on the balance sheet, which was applied retrospectively. As a result, “Total assets at year-end” and “Long-term obligations, net” were revised to conform to the new presentation. The impact to 2013, 2012 and 2011 was not material. Refer to Notes 1(p) and 1(q) for further details. |
| (c) | Represents the sum of income from continuing operations before income taxes plus interest expense, divided by interest expense. |
| IPL | 2015 (a) | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 | 2011 | ||||||||||||||
| (in millions) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $1,774.5 | $1,848.1 | $1,818.8 | $1,650.3 | $1,740.1 | ||||||||||||||
| Net income (b) | 196.2 | 191.8 | 188.3 | 158.3 | 139.3 | ||||||||||||||
| Earnings available for common stock (b) | 186.0 | 181.6 | 172.0 | 145.7 | 124.3 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash dividends declared on common stock | 140.0 | 140.0 | 128.1 | 122.9 | 73.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | 385.0 | 406.1 | 232.6 | 291.0 | 366.9 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets (b) | 6,709.1 | 6,450.2 | 5,793.9 | 5,446.8 | 5,084.1 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net (b) | 1,857.4 | 1,758.6 | 1,549.5 | 1,353.7 | 1,302.0 |
| (a) | Refer to “Results of Operations” in MDA for a discussion of the 2015, 2014 and 2013 results of operations. |
| (b) | In 2015, IPL adopted a new accounting standard related to the presentation of debt issuance costs on the balance sheet, as well as applied a change in method of recording income taxes, which were applied retrospectively. As a result, “Net income,” “Earnings available for common stock,” “Total assets,” and “Long-term obligations, net” were revised to conform to the new presentation. The impact to 2013, 2012 and 2011 was not material. Refer to Notes 1(c), 1(p) and 1(q) for further details. |
Alliant Energy is the sole common shareowner of all 13,370,788 shares of IPL’s common stock outstanding. As such, earnings per share data is not disclosed herein.
| WPL | 2015 (a) | 2014 (a) | 2013 (a) | 2012 | 2011 | ||||||||||||||
| (in millions) | |||||||||||||||||||
| Operating revenues | $1,435.1 | $1,449.1 | $1,406.3 | $1,392.0 | $1,434.4 | ||||||||||||||
| Net income (b) | 177.6 | 181.1 | 179.1 | 172.7 | 163.5 | ||||||||||||||
| Earnings available for common stock (b) | 176.3 | 180.4 | 177.5 | 169.4 | 160.2 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash dividends declared on common stock | 126.9 | 118.7 | 116.3 | 112.0 | 112.1 | ||||||||||||||
| Cash flows from operating activities | 449.8 | 424.4 | 423.3 | 427.4 | 428.8 | ||||||||||||||
| Total assets (b) | 5,270.4 | 5,117.6 | 4,796.2 | 4,754.4 | 4,035.8 | ||||||||||||||
| Long-term obligations, net (b) | 1,624.2 | 1,658.3 | 1,423.2 | 1,426.3 | 1,182.3 |
| (a) | Refer to “Results of Operations” in MDA for a discussion of the 2015, 2014 and 2013 results of operations. |
| (b) | In 2015, WPL adopted a new accounting standard related to the presentation of debt issuance costs on the balance sheet, as well as applied a change in method of recording income taxes, which were applied retrospectively. As a result, “Net income,” “Earnings available for common stock,” “Total assets,” and “Long-term obligations, net” were revised to conform to the new presentation. The impact to 2013, 2012 and 2011 was not material. Refer to Notes 1(c), 1(p) and 1(q) for further details. |
Alliant Energy is the sole common shareowner of all 13,236,601 shares of WPL’s common stock outstanding. As such, earnings per share data is not disclosed herein.
Previous: Item 5. MARKET FOR REGISTRANTS’ COMMON EQUITY, RELATED STOCKHOLDER MATTERS AND ISSUER PURCHASES OF EQUITY SECURITIES · Next: Item 7. MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS
Sponsor Sponsor this sector. One slot per industry, shown on every filing in it. Details